WILL YOU UNCOVER ITS SECRETS?

The Gallery is a riveting historical art mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Westing Game, set in the Roaring Twenties.

It’s 1928, and twelve-year-old Martha has no choice but to work as a maid in the New York City mansion of the wealthy Sewell family. But, despite the Gatsby-like parties and trimmings of success, she suspects something might be deeply wrong in the household—specifically with Rose Sewell, the formerly vivacious lady of the house who now refuses to leave her room. The other servants say Rose is crazy, but scrappy, strong-willed Martha thinks there’s more to the story—and that the paintings in the Sewell’s gallery contain a hidden message detailing the truth. But in a house filled with secrets, nothing is quite what it seems, and no one is who they say. Can Martha follow the clues, decipher the code, and solve the mystery of what’s really going on with Rose Sewell?

Inspired by true events described in a fascinating author’s note, The Gallery is a 1920s caper told with humor and spunk that readers today will love.

The Gallery

PRAISE FOR THE GALLERY

“This lively and inventive mystery successfully incorporates history, art, and literary classics... readers will certainly be swept up by Martha’s pluck and the mystery’s many layers.”

Booklist, starred review

“A solid, fast-moving mystery for historical fiction fans, with nods to art history and mythology.”

School Library Journal

“Fitzgerald’s interest in art and history inform this puzzle of a novel, with Jane Eyre, Sacco and Vanzetti, the dying art of vaudeville, chemistry, and the 1929 stock market crashes all playing roles.”

The Horn Book

“Offer this to fans of Blue Balliett who like sophisticated adventures.”

Publishers Weekly

EXTRAS

Ask the Author
The Gallery's Paintings
More on the 1920s
Show More

©2016 Laura Marx Fitzgerald